The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul

£9.99

The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul

A heart-warming and uplifting internationally bestselling novel by Deborah Rodriguez

When five very different women come together in a little coffee shop in one of the most dangerous places on earth, they prove that even in a place rife with conflict, love friendship and hope will always survive.

About the author: Rodriguez taught at and later directed the first modern beauty academy and training salon in Afghanistan. She also owned the Kabul Coffee House and is founder of Oasis Rescue - a non-profit teaching hairdressing to women in post-conflict areas.

Paperback, 416 pages.

The Bookseller of Kabul

£9.99

The Bookseller of Kabul

Åsne Seierstadt paints 'An intimate portrait of Afghani people quite unlike any other, a compelling read' - Christina Lamb, Sunday Times

In Spring 2002, award-winning journalist Åsne Seierstadt spent four months living with bookseller Sultan Khan and his family. For more than twenty years, Khan defied the authorities, supplying books to the people of Kabul. As a cultural outsider with an insider's perspective on their family life, Åsne presents this unique and intimate account of family, culture and country.

Paperback, 288 pages.

Salt Houses

£9.99

Salt Houses

A novel by Hala Alyan recounting the experience of a family from Nablus caught up in the resistance of the Six-day War of 1967, posing the haunting and heartbreaking question, 'Where do you go when you can't go home?'

'A piercingly elegant novel that registers Palestine with deep resonance for what it is: A place where families decide between security and happiness, religion and heritage, where war is constant, yet peace is found. In the exquisite prose of a poet, Hala Alyan shows how we carry our origins in our hearts wherever we may roam. This is a book with the power to both break and mend your heart.' - Ru Freeman, author of On Sal Mal Lane

Paperback, 320 pages.

In My Mother's Footsteps

£8.99

In My Mother's Footsteps

Mona Hajjar Halaby gives a poignant personal account of a daughter discovering her Palestinian roots and recovering her mother's beloved past. Perfect for fans of The Bookseller of Kabul and The Beekeeper of Aleppo.

Mona grew up with her mother Zakia's memories of Palestine, imagining the muezzin's call for prayer and the medley of church bells her mother so vividly described. Accepting a teaching position in Ramallah, Mona embarks on a pilgrimage to discover her mother's long-lost home in occupied Jerusalem. After fifty-nine years of exile, mother and daughter stand hand-in-hand together in Jerusalem - but can a lifetime of loss ever be healed?

Paperback, 288 pages.

Heart Print A5 Notebook

On Sale £4.99 Regular price £7.99

Heart Print A5 Notebook

New and exclusive to Embrace - our Heart Range is inspired by our Middle Eastern partners, working to provide access to vital medical care where it is most needed.

194 lined pages with elasticated closure.

Matching items available: Apron, CandlePenTea-towel

On Sale £4.99 Regular price £7.99

Add to Basket
Mornings in Jenin

£9.99

Mornings in Jenin

A novel by Susan Abulhawa

A story of love and loss - this deeply moving novel tracks the Palestinian narrative as never before, through four generations of a single displaced family, confronting us afresh with the reality of life amidst political conflict.

Paperback, 331 pages.

The Beekeeper of Aleppo

£8.99

The Beekeeper of Aleppo

Moving, compassionate and beautifully written, The Beekeeper of Aleppo is a powerful testament to the triumph of the human spirit.

'A redemptive tale of hope'
The Irish Independent

About the Author:  Christy Lefteri is the child of Cypriot refugees. Raised in London, she lectures in creative writing at Brunel University. The Beekeeper of Aleppo was inspired by her work in a Unicef refugee centre in Athens.

The Other Side of the Wall

£12.99

The Other Side of the Wall

A Palestinian Christian Narrative of Lament and Hope

Christians have lived in Palestine since the earliest days of the Jesus movement. The Palestinian church predates Islam. Yet Palestinian Christians find themselves marginalised and ostracised.

'This book is my invitation to you, to step into the other side of the wall
and listen to our stories and perspective...allow me to share how Palestinians
experience God, read the Bible, and have been touched and liberated
by Jesus, a fellow Bethlehemite, who has challenged us to
see others as neighbours and love them as ourselves.' 
Munther Isaac

About the Author:  Palestinian Christian Pastor and Theologian Munther Isaac (PhD Biblical Studies, Oxford Centre for Mission Studies) is Academic Dean at Bethlehem Bible College and Director of the influential Christ at the Checkpoint conferences. He is also an ordained minister in the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Jordan and the Holy Land.

In the Footsteps of Jesus

£19.99

In the Footsteps of Jesus

A compelling and beautiful book chronicling the life and ministry of Jesus, the landscape of the Holy Land and the origins of Christianity.

Breathtaking photography, unique historical artifacts, expertly crafted text and informative maps created by National Geographic cartographers.

Size: 19 x 23.5cm

 

God's Peace When You Can't Sleep

£6.99

God's Peace When You Can't Sleep

Short and simple anecdotes, quotes, Bible verses, blessings, and prayers to help calm the mind and soothe the spirit.

God's Peace When You Can't Sleep is the perfect book to keep within easy reach of your pillow for those restless moments when sleep is illusive. Beautifully presented, this tranquil read also makes the perfect gift for a loved one struggling with insomnia.

Hardback, 208 pages.

Reflections on the Psalms

£9.99

Reflections on the Psalms

C.S.Lewis brings us his inspirational reflections on the Psalms.

A moving theological examination of the most poetic portions of Scripture and what they tell us about God, the Bible and faith.

Paperback, 192 pages.

Feasts from the Middle East

£20.00

Feasts from the Middle East

A 256 page cookbook packed with over 100 deliciously fresh, fragrant and flavourful dishes.

Inspired by the Souks of Lebanon this collection of delectable recipes has been created by Tony Kitous, founder of Comptoir Libanais restaurants, and the Comptoir chefs.